About Us

Verve Grandmasters Championship


Are you older and feel your competitive curling days are over? Think again, and look at the Ontario Grandmasters Curling Association events, designed for Ontario men curlers 70 years of age and older and women curlers 65 years of age and older, leading to the Verve Grandmasters Provincial Championship. Our events are sanctioned by the Ontario Curling Association and we appreciate the title sponsorship of Verve Inspired Senior Living.

While curling for senior members in Southern Ontario was active, what was not available was a provincial championship for Grandmasters. Austin Palmer of the Thornhill Golf & Country Club convened a group of like-minded individuals; the Ontario Grandmasters Curling Association was born.


The Beginning

Year 2006.  The first of the original committee members were, Gord Beaumont, Dave Dalton and John Stark from Thornhill Golf & Country Club, Bill Boorne, Art Burford and John Bayes from Bayview Golf & Country Club and Ron Gibson from Richmond Hill CC.  Later that same season the following joined the committee: Gil Berringer and Dave LaFerle from Bayview Golf & Country Club, Ben Petch from Tam Heather Curling Club, Art Lobel from Richmond Hill Curling Club and Peter Barker from Dixie Curling Club

We had our first Provincial Championship March 23rd and 24th, 2007. This is our tenth year anniversary.

Our mission

  1. To provide a provincial competition for 16 zone winners in order to determine a Verve Grandmasters Champion.
  2. To promote curling at the Grandmasters level in Ontario for men at least 70 years of age and women at least 65 years of age.
  3. To encourage other provinces to adopt their own Grandmasters Championship.
  4. To foster good relations with Grandmasters participants, our sponsors (listed on another page on this website and we encourage you to support them), the Thornhill Golf & Country Club and the Ontario Curling Association.


Our Events

  1. Competition at the zone level is a double knockout format using the same 16 zones as the OCA.
  2. The 16 zone winners compete March 15, 16, 17, 2018 in a single knockout competition with four events.


Past Champions include:

Ron Perrier’s team from South Muskoka C&GC in 2016

Benny Brock’s team from Trenton Curling Club in 2015

Bob Edmondson’s team from Dixie Curling Club in 2014

Art Leganchuk’s team from Bayview Golf and Country Club in 2013

Rod Matheson’s team from the Ottawa Curling Club in 2012

Austin Palmer’s team from Thornhill Golf and Country Club in 2011

Peter Barker’s team from Dixie Curling Club  in 2010 and 2007

Gary Holmes’ team from St. Catharines Golf and Curling Club in 2009

Al Boyle’s team from Tam Heather Curling Club in 2008


Upcoming dates:

 Provincial Final – March 15, 16, 17, 2018