Grand Masters Curling Association Ontario

Men curlers 70 and over. Women curlers 65 and over.

2015 Grand Masters Provincial Champions
Trenton Curling Club – Zone 4 – Benny Brock – skip, Bob Bateman, Lloyd Danford, Bob Gates


About Us

If you are 70 years of age or more and feeling your competitive curling days are over? Think again, and look at the GMCA, designed for Ontario men curlers 70 years and older, and women curlers 65 years and older, leading to an OCA Provincial Championship.


Established in 2007, this association got its start from enthusiasts in two active leagues operating in Toronto for curlers 70 and older – one at Thornhill Golf and Country Club and the other at Toronto Cricket Skating and Curling Club, 28 teams in total. The association is sponsored by Diversicare Canada (homes for seniors). The Grand Masters is sanctioned and assisted by the Ontario Curling Association.

Competition at the zone level is double knockout format using the same 16 zones as the OCA. The 16 zone winners compete in late March in a single knockout competition with three events.

Entry forms are sent to all Southern Ontario curling clubs. Entries close two weeks prior to zone play. Particular attention is made to OCA Masters and Stick Spiel dates so as not to conflict. Stick curlers are accepted.

Past Champions include:

Bob Edmondson’s team from Dixie Curling Club in 2014

Art Leganchuk’s team from Bayview Golf and Country Club in 2013

Rod Matheson’s team from the Ottawa Curling Club in 2012

Austin Palmer’s team from Thornhill Golf and Country Club in 2011

Peter Barker’s team from Dixie Curling Club  in 2010 and 2007

Gary Holmes’ team from St. Catharines Golf and Curling Club in 2009

Al Boyle’s team from Tam Heather Curling Club in 2008

Upcoming dates:

Zone Play Dates – Dec. 8 – 18, 2015
Provincial Final Dates – Mar. 17, 18, 19, 2016